Skip to content

The Perfect Start to My Day

June 11, 2011

Good morning! I hope you are all having a wonderful Saturday, I know I am. Try not to be jealous of the picture to your left, it is UH-MAZING! But more about that later.

I worked until close last night at Saltgrass so I decided to just call it a night and head to my apartment. So I watched part of the movie ‘Fracture’ (speaking of Ryan Gosling?), which was on TNT, and then went to bed. I can’t complain. This morning however, I thought I’d grab some breakfast at one of my favorite local places here in Norman: Crimson & Whipped Cream!

Crimson & Whipped Cream is a local bakery on Campus Corner here in Norman. Their name plays off of OU’s school colors, crimson and cream. They opened this year so they are fairly new. It is one of my absolutely FAVORITE places to go in Norman period! The people are incredibly friendly and definitely remember a face. They bake everything in-house, and boy do they have a variety.

From cupcakes to scones, pumpkin bread, cookies, cinnamon rolls, granola bars, whoopie pies and tons more. They bake everything fresh throughout the day and vary their flavors each day. I haven’t had a thing here yet that I didn’t like. Today I tried one of their new flavors, it was a vanilla bean cupcake with strawberry buttercream…and yes, you can see the real pieces of fresh strawberries in it. It’s incredible, it’s like summer in a cupcake.

You’ll also notice that I’m enjoying a cup of coffee with my cupcake. They also have the coffee selection of a coffeehouse, which is great…especially for those coffee addicts out there *cough* *cough*. They have great brew as well as Brazilian and Colombian espressos. And of course you can get your lattes, macchiatos, Americanos, etc. If you’re not a coffee drinker, they also have tons of tea options– including a delicious chai that is one of my favorites– as well as sodas and in-house lemonade!

The atmosphere is so fun, and another reason I love this place. With a cute granite top bar, open pastry cases, wooden table with steel chairs, and over hanging mason jar lights, this places is relaxing and cute. It also has a variety of old school board games to if you’re looking to pass the time with friends. And of course, one of it’s particularly endearing elements is the photo booth where customers can take photo and then hang them on the wall of the shop.

Another great thing about Crimson & Whipped Cream is that you can get orders to-go; whether it’s a big call-ahead order, or a pop in and pick up a few of whatever they have. It’s great if you have a sweet tooth and want a quick little treat, or if you want to surprise someone. My boyfriend Josh got me a box of their Valentine-themed cupcakes back in Februaury, and let me tell you, BEST gift ever!

And lastly I should point out that they are so AFFORDABLE! Which is great for us college kids on a budget. Every baked good is under $3, and many of the cookies are $.50 to $1. Also, if you follow them on Facebook they post when their having specials of half-off sales so you can come in and take advantage of that .

Honestly, if you haven’t been here yet, you are missing out! Whether you want to study, read,  hang out with friends or start your Saturday off right, this is the PERFECT place! It’s atmosphere, great prices and great tasting baked goods and coffee make it, in my opinion one of, if not THE best spots in Norman, and the OKC area for that matter.

Look for a more formal review of Crimson & Whipped Cream under my ‘Reviews’ section, complete with a ton of more photos

So make a point to come by, you won’t be disappointed. And hey, you may even see me, as I find myself popping by more and more often! Oh and one last thing:

My Saturday morning started off perfectly!

Cheers!

No comments yet

Leave a comment