Skip to content

Late-night Wednesdays

June 9, 2011

I know the picture paired with the title probably makes it seem like I’m having a steamy rendezvous tonight…I’m NOT. Don’t worry.

 

 

 

So Wednesdays are long days for us here at The Daily. During the summer we’re a weekly newspaper instead of a daily. Since the paper comes out every Thursday, we work our normal hours during the day and then late into the night to design the newspaper and get it to the press. So pretty much it’s a 12 hour day. I go in around 10am and work until 10:30ish at night. Right now I’m taking a break from editing my photos to post this because I obviously can’t wait to call it a day and head home to relax.

My evening relaxation consists of a future blog post. I plan on sitting down with a nice glass of wine and watching Blue Valentine! I know, I know, where have I been? Everyone I know that loves indie films has already seen it. Cut me a little slack, indie films don’t normally come to Oklahoma. It’s a crime, I know, but I make do.

So I couldn’t see it in theatres, but yes, I am to blame for having not rented it since it’s been out nearly a month. I’m so excited! I love Ryan Gosling– but not in that he’s-just-attractive-oh-my-god-The Notebook-way– come one, Lars and the Real Girl anyone? He’s a great actor and the previews make it out to be a very honest movie. Being a theatre nerd, I love an honest, acting-based movie. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good thriller and excellent special effects. But my heart has a soft spot for movies that let the acting carry them.

Any way, hopefully the paper will be done in a few hours and I will head home, settle down with my wine and watch Blue Valentine. The result of course, will culminate in a post reviewing the movie. Get excited!

Cheers!

No comments yet

Leave a comment